I’m back from my travels…weddings, dragonflies, kettles and one of my favourite flavours – yuzu

I’m back from stepping over several english borders to celebrate my good friends wedding in oxfordshire. It was a contrasting weekend filled with wine, dragonflies in untended meadows, friends, croquet battles, whistlng kettles on fires, scarecrows and lost photos from oxfordshire shops.

Our accomodation for the weekend – some old school shepherds huts on a wildlife rescue centre
It was nice to not have a kitchen and cook outside for the weekend – forced us to have a three hour breakfast each day!

I never thought i’d get married until i had the bright realisation that we could recreate a marriage ritual to reflect our own values and viewpoints. I’m a great believer in the power of ritual, not in an airy fairy sense, more in the case that a pin pointed moment can be your chance to reflect on where you are and what you believe in. I’ve always thought of pete my partner as my fellow adventurer, aa milne seemed to get it right in this poem…

Us Two

Wherever I am, there’s always Pooh,
There’s always Pooh and Me.
Whatever I do, he wants to do,
“Where are you going today?” says Pooh:
“Well, that’s very odd ‘cos I was too.
Let’s go together,” says Pooh, says he.
“Let’s go together,” says Pooh.

“What’s twice eleven?” I said to Pooh.
(“Twice what?” said Pooh to Me.)
“I think it ought to be twenty-two.”
“Just what I think myself,” said Pooh.
“It wasn’t an easy sum to do,
But that’s what it is,” said Pooh, said he.
“That’s what it is,” said Pooh.

“Let’s look for dragons,” I said to Pooh.
“Yes, let’s,” said Pooh to Me.
We crossed the river and found a few-
“Yes, those are dragons all right,” said Pooh.
“As soon as I saw their beaks I knew.
That’s what they are,” said Pooh, said he.
“That’s what they are,” said Pooh.

“Let’s frighten the dragons,” I said to Pooh.
“That’s right,” said Pooh to Me.
“I’m not afraid,” I said to Pooh,
And I held his paw and I shouted “Shoo!
Silly old dragons!”- and off they flew.

“I wasn’t afraid,” said Pooh, said he,
“I’m never afraid with you.”

So wherever I am, there’s always Pooh,
There’s always Pooh and Me.
“What would I do?” I said to Pooh,
“If it wasn’t for you,” and Pooh said: “True,
It isn’t much fun for One, but Two,
Can stick together, says Pooh, says he. “That’s how it is,” says Pooh.

And moving on….

I really like bright and clean, citrusy flavours and a couple of years ago i discovered the wonders of YUZU whilst eating a delicious plate of squid with a yuzu and miso dressing at the Porthminster Cafe in St Ives.  So what is Yuzu i hear you ask?

Citrus ichangensis –

YUZU is a citrus fruit and plant originating in East Asia It is believed to be a hybrid of sour mandarin and Ichang papeda. Although its origins are in china it has been made popular in Japan.  Yuzu has a flavour that is almost half lemon and half lime but still with a light almost floral tinge to it. It still remains fairly bitter and citrus but also a touch sweet. So like any citrus fruit you can use it in both sweet and savoury recipes. The following pictures link back to Yuzu recipes for you to follow….

Yotam Ottolenghi’s candy beetroot with lentils and yuzu recipe
Scallops grilled with chilli, garlic and yuzu butter

Post image for Pickled Turnip with Yuzu

Yuzu sorbet
Scallop Crudo with Shiso & Yuzu Oils and Pink Peppercorn
Hemp encrusted salmon with a yuzu and ginger glaze

I hope this has introduced a new flavour into your kitchen cabinet – but where can i get some yuzu i hear you ask! Yuzu juice itself is quite expensive but you only need to use a teaspoon or so in a dressing to give a recipe a whole new kick, but you can also buy yuzu dressing which is a great low fat healthy salad dressing. Its definatly a bit of a niche ingredient but the powers of the internet have opened a whole new universe for accessing ingredients, here some links that i have used;

The Japan Centre – http://www.japancentre.com/items?search=yuzu&x=0&y=0 – this is a great source for all sort of other ingredients.

Mount Fuji Shop –http://www.mountfuji.co.uk/cgi-bin/ss000001.pl?page=search&SS=yuzu&search.x=0&search.y=0&search=ACTION&PR=-1&TB=A

Melbury and Appleton Deli Online Shop – http://www.melburyandappleton.co.uk/index.asp?function=SEARCH

So happy yuzu cooking – i really do recommend it!

keri – Humble Cottage xx

3 comments

  1. Thank you so much Keri for featuring my Yuzu recipe! I’m a big fan of yuzu myself and I have another yuzu recipe coming up in 2 weeks. 🙂 I enjoyed browsing everyone’s yuzu creation!

Leave a Reply

